View in 3D

Winter im Dorf

Hans Steiner

DETAILS

Hans Steiner, 1950 (vers)
Winter im Dorf
Epreuve au gélatino-bromure d'argent sur carton, 34.5 × 38 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

SHARE

Hans Steiner is one of the greatest Swiss photographers. The fonds documents pre-war Switzerland, mobilisation and the post-war period (1935-1955) in all strata of society and throughout the country. Sport, fashion as well as industry are subjects he likes. Photographer and reporter, he takes a penetrating look at the daily life of Switzerland and its inhabitants between 1930 and 1960. During this period, he produced a large number of remarkable images that were published in the illustrated press. The quality and diversity of his work make him one of the major figures of 20th century Swiss photography.

The collection, held by the Musée de l'Elysée, includes 6000 vintages, thousands of contact sheets, hundreds of slides, 105,000 6×6 negatives. In short, a very important set of phototypes from the photographer's family and estate.

The Steiner collection, a vast project to restore, enhance and promote 1471 original prints, was carried out by the Musée de l'Elysée in partnership with the University of Lausanne, Memoriav, the Swiss Institute for the Conservation of Photography ISCP in Neuchâtel and the Büro für Fotografiegeschichte in Berne. Project duration: 2006 to 2010.

A privileged witness, both unconventional and resolutely optimistic, of a society that is evolving towards consumption, Hans Steiner proposes a different vision of Switzerland, more urban, in which women, sports, leisure and advertising acquire a new visibility.

From 1930 to 1960, he produced a large number of remarkable images, published in the illustrated press. The quality and diversity of his work make him one of the major figures of Swiss photography. The exhibition has the dual ambition of showing Steiner's most representative and seductive images, and offering a contemporary view of a historical subject. It emphasizes the graphic qualities of Steiner's work and the originality of the subjects treated by the Swiss photographer, in order to highlight his qualities as an image creator. The exhibition consists of a selection of original vintage prints and recent prints, selected on the basis of the contact story boards.

Further reading and related documents

More information on http://wp.unil.ch/unimedia/autour-de-hans-steiner-un-partenariat-national/

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

Voir en 3D

Winter im Dorf

Hans Steiner

DETAILS

Hans Steiner
Winter im Dorf, 1950 (vers)
Epreuve au gélatino-bromure d'argent sur carton, 34.5 × 38 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

PARTAGER

Hans Steiner compte parmi les plus grands photographes suisses. Le fonds documente la Suisse d’avant-guerre, la mobilisation et l’après-guerre (1935-1955) dans toutes les strates de la société et sur l’ensemble du territoire. Le sport, la mode aussi bien que l’industrie sont des sujets qu’il affectionne. Photographe et reporter, il porte un regard pénétrant sur le quotidien de la Suisse et de ses habitants entre 1930 et 1960. Durant cette période, il signe un grand nombre d’images remarquables qui seront publiées dans la presse illustrée. La qualité et la diversité de ses travaux font de lui une des figures majeures de la photographie suisse du 20ème siècle.

Le fonds, en possession du Musée de l’Elysée, regroupe 6000 vintages, des milliers de planches contacts, des centaines de diapositives, 105’000 négatifs 6×6. Bref un ensemble de phototypes très important provenant de la famille et de la succession du photographe.

Le fonds Steiner, vaste projet de restauration, valorisation et promotion de 1471 tirages originaux a été mené par le Musée de l’Elysée en partenariat avec l’Université de Lausanne, Memoriav, l’Institut suisse pour la conservation de la photographie ISCP de Neuchâtel et le Büro für Fotografiegeschichte de Berne. Durée du projet: 2006 à 2010.

Témoin privilégié, à la fois peu conventionnel et résolument optimiste, d'une société qui évolue vers la consommation, Hans Steiner propose une vision différente de la Suisse, plus urbaine, dans laquelle les femmes, les sports, les loisirs et la publicité acquièrent une visibilité nouvelle.

De 1930 à 1960, il signe un grand nombre d’images remarquables, publiées dans la presse illustrée. La qualité et la diversité de ses travaux font de lui une des figures majeures de la photographie suisse. L’exposition a la double ambition de montrer les images les plus représentatives et les plus séduisantes de Steiner, et d’offrir un regard contemporain sur un sujet historique. Elle met l’accent sur les qualités graphiques de l’oeuvre de Steiner et l’originalité des sujets traités par le photographe suisse, de manière à dégager ses qualités de créateur d’images. L’exposition consiste en une sélection de tirages originaux d’époques (vintages) et de tirages récents, sélectionnés sur la base des planches contacts de reportages.

En savoir plus et documents

Plus d’information sur http://wp.unil.ch/unimedia/autour-de-hans-steiner-un-partenariat-national

Haut de la page

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant