View in 3D

"Le Cyclope"
Milly-la-Forêt, France

René Burri

DETAILS

René Burri, 1972
"Le Cyclope"
Milly-la-Forêt, France
Epreuves au gélatino-bromure d'argent, 21.6 × 30 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

SHARE

© René Burri / Magnum Photos Fondation René Burri courtesy Musée de l'Elysée

For a 20-year renewable term, the Musée de l'Elysée holds most of the work of Swiss photographer René Burri (1933-2014). Member of the Magnum agency since his 26 years, he will testify with intelligence and accuracy, throughout his career, of the significant events of his time.
Besides his work with often imposed subjects, René Burri also photographs for himself, giving free rein to his imagination. He says that the practice of collage came to him to manage his anxiety about flying. With this artistic practice, Burri develops his own graphic compositions by cutting, tearing and assembling his photographs.

René Burri's photocollage presented here evokes the construction of Jean Tinguely's Cyclops. Created in the forest of Milly, France, this monumental installation of concrete and iron is the result of several years of collaborative work between the Swiss sculptor, his wife Niki de Saint-Phalle and some fifteen artists from the Nouveaux Réalistes group.

Further reading and related documents

More information on www.elysee.ch

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

This website uses cookies to provide you with the best possible service. By continuing to visit this website you agree to our use of cookies.
To learn more about our privacy policy click here.

View in 3D

«Le Cyclope»
Milly-la-Forêt, France

René Burri

DETAILS

René Burri, 1972
«Le Cyclope»
Milly-la-Forêt, France
Epreuves au gélatino-bromure d'argent, 21.6 × 30 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

SHARE

© René Burri / Magnum Photos Fondation René Burri courtesy Musée de l'Elysée

Pour une durée de 20 ans reconductible, le Musée de l’Elysée détient l’essentiel de l’œuvre du photographe suisse René Burri (1933-2014). Membre de l’agence Magnum dès ses 26 ans, il témoignera avec intelligence et justesse, tout au long de sa carrière, des événements marquants de son temps.
A côté de son travail aux sujets souvent imposés, René Burri photographie également pour lui-même, laissant libre cours à son imagination. Il raconte que la pratique du collage lui est venue pour gérer son angoisse de l’avion. Avec cette pratique artistique, Burri élabore ses propres compositions graphiques en découpant, déchirant et assemblant ses photographies.
Le photocollage de René Burri présenté ici évoque la construction du Cyclope de Jean Tinguely. Réalisé dans la forêt de Milly, en France, cette installation monumentale de béton et de fer résulte d’un travail collaboratif de plusieurs années entre le sculpteur suisse, sa femme Niki de Saint-Phalle et une quinzaine d’artistes issus du groupe des Nouveaux Réalistes.

Further reading and related documents

More information on http://www.elysee.ch

Back to top

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant