View in 3D

Beau temps orageux

Pierre Bonnard

DETAILS

Pierre Bonnard, 1910 / 1911
Beau temps orageux
Huile sur toile, 38 × 71 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

SHARE

At the turn of the 20th century, Provence and the Côte d'Azur constituted a veritable laboratory of modern painting, this "great studio of the South" dreamed of by Vincent Van Gogh, where artists shared their aesthetic research and the same taste for intense light.

After having abandoned interiors and artificial lighting for natural light and landscape, after having worked west of Paris and in the Seine valley, these places cherished by the impressionists, Bonnard discovered the Mediterranean coast in 1904. Despite this stay and despite several trips to Spain and North Africa, it was only in June 1909 that he had the revelation of the southern light. Invited by the fauve painter Henri Manguin to Villa Demière in Saint-Tropez, his palette changes substantially with the spectacle of nature burned by the sun. The dark hues give way to intense greens and bright yellows, as in this stormy Beautiful weather, painted the following year or in the summer of 1911.

The artist explained in 1944 that he understood at that time that it was necessary to raise the tone to restore the incandescence and brightness of colors. Without resorting to the impressionistic diffraction of the touch, but rather by vigorous brushstrokes and a great mastery of his palette, Bonnard translates the subtle gradations of light and the fleeting atmosphere. He lets the color invade the canvas and drown the contours of the shapes about to be dissolved by light. If the human being is absent from the painting, he is not totally excluded. As in many of his landscapes, Bonnard evokes it here subtly, by the presence of a tiny isolated sailboat in the middle of a bay dominated by hills covered with lush vegetation.

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

View in 3D

Beau temps orageux

Pierre Bonnard

DETAILS

Pierre Bonnard, 1910 / 1911
Beau temps orageux
Huile sur toile, 38 × 71 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

SHARE

Au tournant du XXe siècle, la Provence et la Côte d’Azur constituent un véritable laboratoire de la peinture moderne, ce «grand atelier du Midi» rêvé par Vincent Van Gogh, où les artistes partagent leurs recherches esthétiques et un même goût pour une lumière intense.

Après avoir abandonné les intérieurs et les éclairages artificiels pour la lumière naturelle et le paysage, après avoir travaillé à l’ouest de Paris et dans la vallée de la Seine, ces lieux chéris des impressionnistes, Bonnard découvre le littoral méditerranéen en 1904. Malgré ce séjour et malgré plusieurs voyages en Espagne et en Afrique du Nord, c'est en juin 1909 seulement qu’il a la révélation de la lumière méridionale. Invité par le peintre fauve Henri Manguin à la Villa Demière, à Saint-Tropez, sa palette se modifie substantiellement au spectacle de la nature brûlée par le soleil. Les teintes sombres font place à des verts intenses et à des jaunes lumineux, comme dans ce Beau temps orageux, peint l’année suivante ou à l’été 1911.

L'artiste expliquera en 1944 qu'il comprend à ce moment-là qu’il faut hausser le ton pour restituer l’incandescence et l’éclat des couleurs. Sans recourir à la diffraction impressionniste de la touche, mais plutôt par des coups de pinceaux vigoureux et une grande maîtrise de sa palette, Bonnard traduit les subtiles gradations de lumière et l’atmosphère fugace. Il laisse la couleur envahir la toile et noyer les contours des formes sur le point d'être dissoutes par la lumière. Si l'être humain est absent du tableau, il n'en est pas exclu totalement pour autant. Comme dans nombre de ses paysages, Bonnard l’évoque ici subtilement, par la présence d’un minuscule voilier isolé au milieu d’une baie dominée par les collines recouvertes d’une végétation luxuriante.

Back to top

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant