mudac

Museum of Contemporary Design and Applied Arts

A museum rooted in everyday experience
The mudac is the only museum in French-speaking Switzerland exclusively dedicated to design and contemporary applied arts. It has built its identity over the course of the 105 exhibitions presented from 2000 to 2016. After its new home has been completed, it will continue with its policy of fostering openness and exchange between numerous contemporary art disciplines, by including all forms of expression, materials, techniques and approaches. Diversity, plurality and high standards are the three watchwords that define the mudac. One could also add the word “contemporary”, since the museum specialises in works from the past 15 to 20 years.

The mudac is a museum that is sensitive to the experiences and everyday concerns of 21st-century society, revealing new or fundamental trends through its thematic exhibitions. Camouflage in design, art, architecture, urban planning and fashion; experimenting with relations between people and pets; packaging; the relationship with the sense of touch; pleasure objects... There is no limit to the subjects tackled by the mudac, which likes to raise questions that concern everyone, without claiming to provide definite answers, but offering an open, critical and often playful forum for reflection. Switzerland’s well-known design museum at home and abroad, the mudac conceives exhibitions that often travel through Europe and beyond.

The mudac’s collections will at last be shown in the spaces they deserve. A rich selection from the prestigious contemporary glass art collection, one of the most famous in the world, will be permanently on show. The contemporary jewellery, ceramic, design and print collections will be shown to the public on a rotation basis. Two or three catalogues per year will add to the scientific research department of the museum.

An exceptional dynamic
The mudac’s current building, a beautiful but complex 17th-century house, has proven to have limitations in terms of logistics, security and visitor comfort, placing drastic constraints on exhibitions. Having new walls within PLATEFORME 10 will enable the mudac to take part in the exceptional dynamic created by the grouping of three museums dedicated to visual art. The future of mudac will therefore be an open one, in the strict and figurative senses: it will be attractive, reactive, perfectly in tune with the times, accessible to people of all kinds from Switzerland and elsewhere, as well as receptive to questions that concern the worlds of art and design, and therefore pertain to contemporary lifestyles.

Lausanne, city of design
The mudac’s strong identity, combined with ECAL’s reputation (Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne), has earned Lausanne and the Canton of Vaud an international reputation as a centre of excellence in contemporary design. The development of PLATEFORME 10 presents a major opportunity to strengthen this position and make design one of the main driving forces of this future district and of Vaud’s cultural life. The design craze that has not abated since the 1990s, allied with the diversity of mudac’s programme, has generated interest from a very wide range of people of all ages from all cultures and backgrounds. It is therefore no exaggeration to say that design is one of today’s most stimulating fields of contemporary creativity. Its ability to intersect and unite disciplines and its place in everyday life make it perfectly suited to the new public space that is taking shape, which is a place of culture, but also a place of social and urban life.

The new mudac, in an emblematic setting
The mudac and the Musée de l’Elysée will share the building designed by Portuguese architects Francisco and Manuel Aires Mateus. It is distinguished by a large horizontal rift that separates the mudac in the upper section from the Musée de l’Elysée, the building’s plinth. The exhibition rooms will be illuminated by a zenithal light. They will be flexible spaces that can be adapted according to the needs and themes of temporary exhibitions. The exhibition rooms will thus be fulfilling the missions of a museum, offering the public an area that inspires discussion and criticism about the transformation of objects and the evolution of society.

mudac — The Museum of Contemporary Design and Applied Arts
Year founded: 2000 (formerly the Musée des arts décoratifs de la Ville de Lausanne, founded in 1967)
Director: Chantal Prod’Hom
Collections: Approximately 3,000 objects including a contemporary glass art collection unlike any other in Europe
Focus: A platform for encounters and exchanges between design, applied arts and contemporary art; dialogue between established designers and young creatives, spectacular prototypes and pieces alongside everyday objects.

Contact

mudac

6, place de la Cathédrale
1005 Lausanne
Switzerland

+41 21 315 25 30 info@mudac.ch

https://mudac.ch/en/

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

mudac

Musée de design et d’arts appliqués contemporains

Un musée ancré dans l’expérience du quotidien
Le mudac est le seul musée de Suisse romande consacré exclusivement au design et aux arts appliqués contemporains. Il a forgé son identité au cours des 105 expositions présentées entre 2000 et 2016, et va poursuivre, une fois son nouvel écrin achevé, sa politique d’ouverture et d’échanges entre les nombreuses disciplines de la création contemporaine en incluant tous les modes d’expression, matériaux, techniques et approches. Diversité, pluralité et exigence sont trois mots clés qui permettent de définir le mudac, auxquels il convient d’ajouter le terme de contemporain car le musée concentre son expertise sur ces 15 à 20 dernières années.

Le mudac est un musée sensible à l’expérience et aux préoccupations quotidiennes de la société du XXIe siècle, révélant par des expositions thématiques les tendances nouvelles ou fondamentales. Camouflage dans le design, l’art, l’architecture, l’urbanisme ou encore la mode ; expérimenter les relations entre l’homme et l’animal domestique; packaging; le rapport au toucher ; les objets du plaisir... Le mudac, qui aime poser des questions qui nous concernent tous, de près ou de loin, sans avoir la prétention d’y apporter des réponses définitives mais offrant un espace de réflexion ouvert, critique et souvent ludique. Musée suisse de design largement connu dans notre pays et à l’étranger, le mudac conçoit des expositions qui circulent fréquemment en Europe et au-delà.

Ses collections pourront enfin bénéficier de généreux espaces en proposant, en particulier, une riche sélection d’œuvres de la prestigieuse collection d’art verrier contemporain, l’une des plus célèbres au monde. Les collections de bijoux contemporains, de céramique, de design et d’estampes seront enfin présentées au public sous forme de tournus. La politique éditoriale du mudac sera encore renforcée par la réalisation de deux à trois ouvrages par an.

Une dynamique exceptionnelle
Le bâtiment actuel du mudac, une belle mais complexe demeure du XVIIe siècle, a démontré ses limites sur les plans logistiques, sécuritaires et de confort des visiteurs, imposant des contraintes drastiques sur les expositions. Ses nouveaux murs, au sein de PLATEFORME 10, permettront au mudac de prendre part à la dynamique exceptionnelle créée par la réunion de trois musées dédiés à la création visuelle. L’avenir du mudac sera donc ouvert, au sens propre et figuré: attractif, réactif, en parfaite adéquation avec l’air du temps, accessible à tous les publics, d’ici et d’ailleurs, ainsi que réceptif aux questionnements du monde de l’art, du design, et donc nos modes de vie contemporains.

Lausanne ville de design
L’identité forte du mudac, conjuguée à la réputation de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne, permet à Lausanne et au canton de Vaud de rayonner comme centre d’excellence du design contemporain international. Le développement de PLATEFORME 10 représente une opportunité majeure de renforcer ce positionnement et de faire du design l’un des moteurs principaux de ce futur quartier et de la vie culturelle vaudoise. L’engouement dont jouit le design depuis les années 1990, allié à la diversité de la programmation du mudac, suscite l’intérêt d’un public très large, de tout âge, de toute culture et de tous milieux. Il n’est dès lors pas exagéré de dire que le design est aujourd’hui l’un des domaines les plus stimulants de la création contemporaine. Sa capacité à traverser et rassembler les disciplines tout comme son inscription dans le quotidien sont en parfaite adéquation avec le nouvel espace public qui se dessine, lieu de culture mais aussi de vie sociale et urbaine.

Le nouveau mudac, dans un écrin emblématique
Le mudac partagera, avec le Musée de l’Elysée, le bâtiment conçu par les architectes portugais Francisco et Manuel Aires Mateus, caractérisé par une large faille horizontale qui sépare le mudac, dans la partie supérieure, du Musée de l’Elysée, socle de l’édifice. Les surfaces d’exposition dévolues au design et aux arts appliqués contemporains bénéficient d’une lumière zénithale, offrant de vastes espaces modulables et configurables selon les besoins et les thématiques des expositions. Un instrument au service des missions du musée, qui offrira au public un espace de réflexion ouvert et critique sur la transformation des objets en lien avec l’évolution de la société.

mudac (Musée de design et d’arts appliqués contemporains)
Fondation: 2000 (anciennement Musée des arts décoratifs de la Ville de Lausanne, fondé en 1967)
Directrice: Chantal Prod’Hom
Collections: Quelque 3’000 objets dont une collection d’art verrier contemporain unique en Europe
Focus: plateforme de rencontre et d’échange entre le design, les arts appliqués et l’art contemporain; dialogue entre designers reconnus et jeunes créateurs, prototypes et pièces spectaculaires avec des objets du quotidien

Contact

mudac

6, place de la Cathédrale
1005 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 315 25 30 info@mudac.ch

www.mudac.ch/

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant