Fondation Toms Pauli

Collection of Ancient tapestries and modern textile creations

A new visibility
The state owns the collection of historical tapestries assembled by Reginald and Mary Toms, as well as the 20th-century collection consisting of works by artists of the heyday of the Lausanne Tapestry Biennals (1962–1995). A private foundation is responsible for managing this dual collection. Founded in Lausanne in 2000, the Fondation Toms Pauli has presented two temporary exhibitions at the Cantonal Museum of Fine Arts: Flemish Tapestries from the 16th to the 18th Century in 2000 and Nomadic Tapestries: 20th-Century Collection in 2016. Various solutions have been sought to enable the Fondation Toms Pauli to conserve and showcase this heritage, and the collection’s integration into the new cultural platform opens up important new opportunities. The foundation will move into the building housing the Cantonal Museum of Fine Art, where it will be able to organise events revolving around textile art and present temporary exhibitions of its collections.

An international network
The Fondation is one of the few public institutions exclusively dedicated to textile art. There is an existing international network for these types of collections that encourages partnerships and exhibition projects. Since it did not have its own walls on which to present its heritage, and therefore had little visibility locally, the Fondation has been very active abroad in recent years, lending a number of works to renowned institutions in Switzerland, Europe (France, Italy, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Lithuania) and the United States.

The collections
As prestigious objects and diplomatic gifts, tapestries were the glory of Europe’s royal courts for centuries. Reginald and Mary Toms assembled over one hundred of them in the 1960s to decorate the walls of their home in the castle of Coinsins (in the La Côte region). This remarkable collection, donated to the Etat de Vaud in 1993, illustrates the wide variety of subjects depicted and the incredible quality of the tapestries, made by the finest manufacturers in Flanders, France, Italy and England from the 16th to the 18th century.

The Fondation’s 20th-century collection — inherited from the Association Pierre Pauli and the Centre International de la Tapisserie Ancienne et Moderne (CITAM)—contains over 200 works by Swiss and foreign artists like Jean Lurçat, Sonia Delaunay, Magdalena Abakanowicz, Jagoda Bui´c, Olga de Amaral, Ritzi & Peter Jacobi, Elsi Giauque, Sheila Hicks, and Naomi Kobayashi. This collection illustrates the remarkable evolution of classical tapestry towards a new, free, inventive form of expression, in the second half of the 20th century. 

Fondation Toms Pauli
Year founded: 2000
President: Eric Rochat
Director: Giselle Eberhard Cotton
Collections: Toms collection, historical tapestries from 16th to the 19th century, and a collection of 20th century textile art
Focus: Conservation, research, publications, exhibitions revolving around its collection.

Contact

Fondation Toms Pauli

Rue Caroline 2
1003 Lausanne
Switzerland

+41 21 329 06 86 info@toms-pauli.ch

www.toms-pauli.ch/en/home/

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

Toms Pauli

Sammlung alter Tapisserien und zeitgenössischer Textilkunst

Neue Sichtbarkeit
Der Kanton Waadt ist Besitzer der Sammlung alter Tapisserien von Reginald und Mary Toms sowie der modernen Sammlung mit Werken von Künstlern und Künstlerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts, die an den Biennales internationales de la Tapisserie in Lausanne (1962–1995) Erfolge gefeiert haben. Eine privatrechtliche Stiftung ist mit der Pflege und Erhaltung dieser zwei Sammlungen betraut. Die Fondation Toms Pauli vermittelte bis anhin an zwei Wechselausstellungen im Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts einen Einblick in ihre Werke und zeigte flämische Wandteppiche aus dem 16. bis 18. Jahrhundert (2004) sowieTapisserie nomadesaus der Sammlung des 20. Jahrhunderts (2016). Seit die Stiftung im Jahr 2000 in Lausanne gegründet wurde, wurden verschiedene Lösungen geprüft, wie sie die von ihr gepflegten Sammlungen bewahren und weiterentwickeln kann. Dabei eröffnen sich durch die Integration dieser Werke alter und moderner Textilkunst in die neue kulturelle Plattform vielversprechende Möglichkeiten. Die Stiftung wird in das Gebäude des Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts einziehen. Hier wird sie Veranstaltungen rund um Textilkunst organisieren und Werke aus ihren Sammlungen temporär ausstellen können.

Ein internationales Netz
Die Fondation Toms Pauli ist eine der wenigen öffentlichen Einrichtungen, die sich ausschliesslich der Textilkunst widmen. Für diese Art von Sammlungen gibt es ein internationales Netzwerk, das Partnerschaften und die Umsetzung von Ausstellungsprojekten fördert. Da die Fondation über keine eigenen Ausstellungsräume verfügte, in denen sie ihre Sammlungen präsentieren konnte, und daher vor Ort kaum sichtbar war, war sie in den letzten Jahren auch im Ausland sehr aktiv und lieh zahlreiche Werken an renommierte Institutionen in der Schweiz, in Europa (Frankreich, Italien, Deutschland, Spanien, Portugal, Litauen) und in den Vereinigten Staaten aus.

Die Sammlungen
Als prestigeträchtige Objekte und diplomatische Geschenke waren Tapisserien jahrhundertelang der Stolz europäischer Königshäuser. Reginald und Mary Toms erwarben in den 1960er Jahren über hundert solche Wandteppiche, mit denen sie ihre Wohnung im Schloss Coinsins (Region La Côte) schmückten. Diese bemerkenswerte Sammlung, die 1993 dem Kanton Waadt vermacht wurde, illustriert die Vielfalt der Motive und die unglaubliche Qualität der Tapisserien aus den besten Manufakturen in Flandern, Frankreich, Italien und England des 16. bis 18. Jahrhunderts.

Die Sammlung des 20. Jahrhunderts der Fondation, die sie von der Association Pierre Pauli und vom Centre International de la Tapisserie Ancienne et Moderne (CITAM) geerbt hat, umfasst mehr als 200 Werke von Schweizer und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wie Jean Lurçat, Sonia Delaunay, Magdalena Abakanowicz und Jagoda Bui´c, Olga de Amaral, Ritzi und Peter Jacobi, Elsi Giauque, Sheila Hicks oder Naomi Kobayashi. Sie zeigt auf, wie sich die klassische Tapisseriekunst in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts hin zu einer freieren und originellen neuen Ausdrucksform entwickelt hat.

Fondation Toms Pauli
Gründung: 2000
Präsident: Eric Rochat
Direktorin: Giselle Eberhard Cotton
Sammlungen:Sammlung Toms, Tapisserien vom 16. bis 19. Jahrhundert, und Textilkunstsammlung aus dem 20. Jahrhundert
Schwerpunkt: Erhalt der Sammlungen und Organisation von damit verbundenen Projekten: Forschung, Publikationen, Ausstellungen.

Kontakt

Fondation Toms Pauli

2, rue Caroline
1003 Lausanne
Schweiz

+41 21 329 06 86 info@toms-pauli.ch

www.toms-pauli.ch

Architektur Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Jetzt
Jetzt
Jetzt
Jetzt
Jetzt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service bieten zu können. Mit der weiteren Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.
Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Datenschutzpolitik erfahren möchten, klicken Sie hier.

Kirby CMS Debugger
Whoops \ Exception \ ErrorException (E_WARNING)
Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28) Whoops\Exception\ErrorException thrown with message "Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28)" Stacktrace: #1 Whoops\Exception\ErrorException in Unknown:0 #0 Whoops\Run:handleError in [internal]:0
Stack frames (2)
1
Whoops
\
Exception
\
ErrorException
Unknown
0
0
Whoops
\
Run
handleError
[internal]
0
Unknown
[internal]

Environment & details:

Key Value
Kirby Toolkit v2.4.1
Kirby CMS v2.4.1
empty
empty
empty
empty
Key Value
kirby_session_fingerprint 36ad6ee13f749be224d5db10f16dc1f4b39410f3
kirby_session_activity 1576028128
kirby_language de
Key Value
REDIRECT_HTTPS on
REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI plateforme10.ch
REDIRECT_STATUS 200
HTTPS on
SSL_TLS_SNI plateforme10.ch
HTTP_USER_AGENT CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
HTTP_ACCEPT text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE en-US,en;q=0.5
HTTP_HOST plateforme10.ch
HTTP_CONNECTION Keep-Alive
HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING gzip
PATH /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
SERVER_SIGNATURE
Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu) Server at plateforme10.ch Port 443
SERVER_SOFTWARE Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu)
SERVER_NAME plateforme10.ch
SERVER_ADDR 46.101.218.134
SERVER_PORT 443
REMOTE_ADDR 3.214.184.124
DOCUMENT_ROOT /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html
REQUEST_SCHEME https
CONTEXT_PREFIX
CONTEXT_DOCUMENT_ROOT /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html
SERVER_ADMIN michael.fiaux@vd.ch
SCRIPT_FILENAME /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html/index.php
REMOTE_PORT 37190
REDIRECT_URL /de/partners/toms_pauli
GATEWAY_INTERFACE CGI/1.1
SERVER_PROTOCOL HTTP/1.1
REQUEST_METHOD GET
QUERY_STRING
REQUEST_URI /de/partners/toms_pauli
SCRIPT_NAME /index.php
PHP_SELF /index.php
REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT 1576028128.908
REQUEST_TIME 1576028128
empty
0. Whoops\Handler\PrettyPageHandler